Where it belongs

by

optimist_framedIt has taken a while, too long some might say, but The Optimist’s Suit finally hangs on the wall.

I actually got the picture framed some time ago, as quickly as I could afford to. I was driven to do this in part because I was terrified that the print might get damaged, but also out of the simple recognition that it deserved to be framed.

There are some people I know who run a small art gallery, people that I have entrusted to frame other pictures of mine. So I took The Optimist’s Suit to them.

You can see here, I hope, just what a wonderful job they did. The frame is square – echoing the shape of the print – but the print is not mounted squarely in it. A little more space at the bottom of the mount than at the top. A visual trick that apparently makes the print look more centred that if it actually *were* centred.optimist_framed_3

We chose (I say we, because I trust them to carefully persuade me to choose what is right rather than what I might like) – we chose a frame that is not plain wood, but rather “distressed” with paint washes. Cream, I guess, with the edges picked out in a graphite colour. Somehow I rather think this suits the found images feeling that I get from Maggie Taylor’s work. And if you look at the background in the print, you can see that it, too, is “distressed”. So I think this works, and I hope that you do, too.

The shape of the frame, the contours of it, this echoes (or perhaps, reinforces) the mount in which the print was set. And I was persuaded to opt for UV-resistant glass, all the better to protect the print.

All in all, I am really pleased with the result. That it wasn’t cheap to do is entirely appropriate, given the immense value that this picture holds for me.

optimist_framed_2It took a while to get it hung. Some of you will know, some of you won’t, but my life turned upside down and I am living something of a temporary existence right now. In between everything. And for a while, that in-betweeness was almost overpowering, so the print sat, safely wrapped, and waited for me. But now, I am starting to get a sense of moving on to whatever comes next, so…

So, finally the print hangs. It hangs next to the place where I use my computer – my connection with you, my astounding friends. And next to the place where I try, slowly, to remember how to write.

I’m still in that place, that in-betweenness, but now the picture hangs beside me. I have two windows in my room: through one, the sunlight falls, and cheers my day. Through the other, I see a winged man, and he reminds me of what I was, and of what I am yet to be.

Thank you. With all my heart, thank you.

14 Responses to “Where it belongs”

  1. proz Says:

    It looks wonderful. Thank you for the update and photos!
    xx

  2. Erin Says:

    It’s beautiful!
    Thanks for posting it. :)
    The frame job is wonderful, it seems as though made *just* for the suit.

  3. lerryn Says:

    Nice to see it “at home”! maybe you should have a similar suit made!

  4. Doug Says:

    UV….nice.

    Well done…

  5. orchid-empress Says:

    love love love the frame (i’m a big fan of the “distressed” look) and… currently being in a state of “in-betweenness” myself, i totally sympathize with your sentiment. just know, that in-between doesn’t mean alone. *big smoochie*

  6. inez Says:

    whatever comes next is going to be the best!
    for the winged man’s sake:o)
    we love you, Cloudy!

  7. hackenbacker Says:

    I am happy that you are happy to put it where it belongs. Thanks for the update.

  8. Claudia523 Says:

    How beautifully you have gone about the framing! It looks very nice.

    2006 was very trying somehow. Already 2007 feels so much better. May the spirit of change brush your wings with happiness.

    To me the picture is a token of esteem and genuine love for you. Whatever the circumstances that is a given. Warm Hugs!!

  9. aine Says:

    Aine just smiles.

  10. Stef Says:

    Hurrah, and big fat colloidal washers with pistachio nuts!

    Great is the smiling of peeper-marmosets.

  11. chimi Says:

    “I have two windows in my room: through one, the sunlight falls, and cheers my day. Through the other, I see a winged man, and he reminds me of what I was, and of what I am yet to be.”

    How beautiful.

    Mwua,
    chimi

  12. Maggie Taylor Says:

    I have to tell you all that I am very happy to see my image have a welcoming and loving new home—this whole unfolding event is fabulously interesting!

    Best wishes to everyone connected here—
    Maggie Taylor

  13. chimi Says:

    *thud*

    Ah…
    ummm….
    uh….

    an incredulous and honored chimi
    *waves to Maggie Taylor*

  14. maryannelove3547 Says:

    Hola me puedes ayudar con los materiales please!!!!!!! Click https://twitter.com/moooker1

Leave a comment